On being well-rounded

I am well-rounded.  And no, I don’t just mean that I have a round middle; though I do.  I mean that I’ve grown up all my life trying to compensate for taking up too much space on this planet by putting my energy into doing things, acheiving goals that might make people look and say, “Well hey, she’s this big fatty but she’s gotten good grades” and the like.  As a result of that, and a penchant for quickly learning the beginning easy parts of most anything I put my mind to, I have truly become a jill of all trades.  I’ve done so much in my life and never once did I appreciate it as an accomplishment rendered because of my amazing mind contained in my equally amazing body.

I graduated from my high school Salutatorian and from college with Summa Cum Laude honors.  I can and have changed my own brakes.  I can and love to cook, roasting chickens or baking up salmon or whipping up delicious mashed potatoes.  I bake, and well.  Though, I have a tendency to skip steps in recipes so I need to make sure I read them well first!  I speak multiple other languages: French, Spanish, some German, a touch of Arabic and a few words in Polish.  I bellydance.  I swim, and even just got up to 10 laps in a row in under 30 minutes, pretty impressive as a personal goal.  I can play the trumpet. I can crotchet and quilt and sew.  I work two jobs and go to classes and write blogs.  I’ve ridden English saddle in competitions and won 5th and 6th place ribbons. I’ve loved and lost and loved again.

All this is not to toot my own horn (I do that later!) but to show the myriad of ways that I have spent my life trying to learn enough or do enough or just BE enough of a person DESPITE my fat that I could somehow apologize, or make up for the fact that my body was just doing its own thing; sitting there being a body.  A casing that allowed me to DO all those amazing things.  And never once did I appreciate it. Not once growing up did I pat my legs in happiness for them getting me around the track for those damnable school testing periods (for which they never prepared you and just expected excellence twice a year).  Never did I focus on how amazing it was for my lungs to be able to push sound through my trumpet and allow me to play concerts and jazz recitals.  Never did I compliment this amazing body that got me doing and being who I was. 

Well I am not happy with how I got so well-rounded in talents but I do love the many things I do.  And since finding FA and learning to love myself as I am, I have grown to have even more confidence in the things I used to do for acceptance; which I now do because I love them, even if I’m not always good at them.  Frankly I believe that even if you are awful at singing or dancing or playing an instrument, etc, if you love to do it and it makes you happy, you should do it.  So I’m sharing a bit of my own motivational encouragement as we head into Thanksgiving Week; and it was inspired, of all things, by a Carpenters song that I love. 

Sing, sing a song
Sing out loud
Sing out strong
Sing of good things not bad
Sing of happy not sad.

Sing, sing a song
Let the world sing along
Sing of love there could be
Sing for you and for me.

Sing, sing a song
Make it simple to last
Your whole life long
Don’t worry that it’s not
Good enough for anyone
Else to hear

Just sing, sing a song.

So everybody remember when things are getting crazy this week or whenever; take that thing you love to do but may be embarrassed about and just do it.  Sing at the top of your lungs, play that instrument and take the squeeky notes along with the good ones, dance like the whole world is watching and you don’t care.  Live this life without restrictions on your mind. This thanksgiving I’m giving thankgs to my body; for all it has allowed me to do and to be.

2 thoughts on “On being well-rounded

  1. Thank you. I needed this bad. I just got back from once heck of a message board thread which basically debased fat people in the usual manner.

    Yes, we are people. Yes, we can accomplish whatever we set our minds too – and be darn happy about it!

  2. The video is great! Thanks as always for the thought and care you put into your entries, for sharing your talents with us, and for your message about how doing what I enjoy is for me, not for everyone else, so who cares if they don’t like it? Right on.

Leave a Reply

