You are EXACTLY what and where you are meant to be

I want to share a bit of inspirational writing that actually lifted my spirits a bit this morning.  I try to keep this blog low-key as far as religious materials as I believe faith is a personal matter.  And, quite frankly, unless your faith believes in the death or destruction of others I don’t see any reason that folks who pray or worship or just feel at one with some aspect of this world and its possible creator(s) couldn’t get along and understand and respect each other.

However, I’m not blind to the fact that this is hardly the way the world works right now: it seems that often people of a particular faith (ANY faith) find it hard to respect or understand that others may have differing beliefs just as strong as their own.  That just as each of us has our own individual bodies within a spectrum of diversity almost too large to conceptually grasp; so too can we each have our own individual faiths.

So it is with that understanding in mind that I post the below quote for your own reflection.  Take “God” to mean what you will: be it the Christian God, another God or god or even a metaphor for the essence of life, that spark that gives each of us breath and hope and life; and it is my hope that these words will also lift you up on this Friday.

Saint Theresa’s Prayer*

May today there be peace within.
May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.
May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.
May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you.
May you be content knowing you are a child of God.
Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing,
Dance, praise and love.
It is there for each and every one of us.

Amen
[Emphasis is mine]

You ARE beautiful.  You ARE amazing.  Look at the breath you take and release and marvel that it is just for YOU; that life and science and faith make up who you are but that miracle is just for you; for each of us.  May that knowledge lift your spirits, let you smile and even if just for a moment, let you appreciate that you ARE here and you are what, who and where you are meant to be right now. You are YOU, with all the confounding and wonderful implications that holds; you are different from each and every other individual in existence, and yet we are all MEANT to be; and that is amazing.

*I had considerable difficulty in determining if these are actual direct quotes from the Saint Theresa.  It was forwarded in an email but after much searching and seeing it used in various sermons online I decided that even if not a direct quote then it is at least a bit of prose that I feel to be powerful as written, regardless to whom it could be attributed.

4 thoughts on “You are EXACTLY what and where you are meant to be

  1. OMG… awesome. :) :) :)
    I don’t have my words for you… I want to sit quietly and let the words you posted soak into my bones.
    Thank you for posting that.

  2. Pingback: Morbidly Obese « I AM in shape. ROUND is a shape.

  3. Pingback: And then I come back with ramblings « I AM in shape. ROUND is a shape.

  4. Pingback: Promoting a great teen blog « I AM in shape. ROUND is a shape.

Leave a Reply

