Cold Weather Treat: Cahn Chowdah

Since it was decidedly brisk today with those ominous overhanging gray-blue clouds of pending rain looming and the autumn wind kicking up colorful leaves; I felt the urge to dig out my good cold weather recipes. 

This recipe is actually a fairly new one taken from a co-worker who made it for a pot-luck a year or so ago.  It has quickly become the favorite here at home and even among my family (who had it when I made it for a pot-luck for them!  Pot-lucks are wonderful things.)  So here it is that I again spread the love of a great recipe for a fantastic and tasty cold-weather chowder.  This is not something you’ll want to slave over if it is 90 degrees outside but I find that the process is fun and makes me smile.  I think it would be a great one to have kids help out with too!  Let me know if anyone ends up trying it.

OH and the recipe is great for doubling if you want to make it for a large party or for a bunch of work lunches.  I love to start with and end up with the same pot through the entire process.  So even if it sounds weird, start off rendering the bacon (or I guess Fak-on if you’re a Vegetarian) in the same pot you want to end up cooking the whole soup in. 

Cahn Chowdah*:
  • 3-4 bacon strips rough chopped (I use 4)
  • 2 – 14oz cans Corn kernels – drained – SAVE THE LIQUID!
  • 1 – 14oz can Creamed Corn
  • 1 can Evaporated Milk (Shake very well! – Most cans come in about 14-15 ounces I think, just FYI)
  • 1 small or 1/2 medium onion – rough chopped
  • 1 small red bell pepper – small chop
  • 3 fist sized white potatoes (I used red potatoes and they are great) – evenly cubed, bite sized
  • Water
  • 1 tbsp butter
 
Optional Herbs
  • Cilantro to taste (I used 1/2 tsp)
  • Cumin to taste (I used 1/2 tsp)
  • Dill to taste (I used 1/4 tsp)
  • Cayenne pepper to taste (just a dash)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
 
I prep all ingredients ahead of time, but that’s just me….
 
In a 4 quart saucepan, render chopped bacon until not quite crisp.  Add bell pepper and saute until fragrant (you will KNOW because it smells awesome!).  Add onion and saute until translucent.  Turn up heat a bit and add corn kernels.  Heat corn through while stirring for a few minutes.  Remove all ingredients to a bowl to free up the saucepan.
 
Add potatoes to the now empty saucepan and pour in reserved corn-can liquid. Add only enough water to just cover potatoes.  Bring to boil, then simmer until done.  With a straining spoon, remove about 1/3 of the potatoes.  Mash them well and add back to the pan. 
 
Add evaporated milk (Shake very well!), creamed corn, corn kernels/onion/pepper/bacon resting in bowl and herbs of choice.  Heat through and add butter(I always almost forget this bit but it really does add to the flavor) – stir.  Check salt and pepper levels.  Chowdah loves both.  Cover pan and let cool completely.  Chowdah’s always best re-heated.
 
Enjoy and have a wonderful taste of a newly come Autumn (or Spring if you’re on the other end of the world!).  Oh and I’ve been assured by a comment that “sadly” won’t make it through moderation that soups are only “healthy” if they are home-made; so enjoy this home-made blessing…WITH my blessings! 😀

 

* I’m up in the Boston area, hence the “cahn chowdah” (Corn Chowder for those who don’t speak Boston-ese).
3 thoughts on “Cold Weather Treat: Cahn Chowdah

  1. Mmmm…corn chowder. Yummy.

    And yes, from bacon fat rendering to serving, the same soup pot is the only way to go.

    Funny, tonight I’ve got another comfort meal (tuna noodle casserole) in the oven as we speak.

  2. Pingback: This home is free of food judgments « I AM in shape. ROUND is a shape.

Leave a Reply

