Variations on a pose

I’ve had a couple of very cranky mood days lately and couldn’t bring myself to get riled up over some of the same old things in order to try to post reflectively: they would have just come out like whines and I’m trying to keep things here, if not always exactly upbeat-sunshine coming out of a unicorn’s butt-style self-acceptance; at the very least engaging, interesting, thought-provoking and/or encouraging of self-examination.

While my mood has VASTLY improved from the general mental malaise of the last half week I still find it difficult to want to poke around for anything too “deep” to explore.  That is why today I’d like to submit for your viewing pleasure something I’m going to call “Variations on a Pose”

These are paintings and photos and sculptures from a variety of artists, all entitled “Nu Couché” (Reclining Nude).  Originally I was looking for Pablo Picasso’s version but SO MANY came up for my online search that I just had to take a moment to give credit to the vast array of human size, shape and existence that can be demonstrated just in one simple pose.

This is NOT my way of trying to say “SEE?  Fat people have been around FAR LONGER than this “Obesity Crisis Spiraling Out of Control” mantra would have use believe.”  It is also not a means of trying to declare that one shape or one size or any one particular ANYTHING should be valued as intrinsically more beautiful than the rest.  In fact it is my hope that seeing all of the below images might break away at those sorts of thoughts and introduce even just a glimmer of “Hey, you know what?  Art can represent a plethora of humanity: we come in an immeasurable variety and ALL of it can be beautiful!”  ANY body can be art.  NO body should be reduced to SIMPLY decorative eye candy.  ALL of us are beautiful.

So, without further Ado aside from a general warning that “nu” means “nude” and these might not be work-appropriate….

Nu couche - Pablo Picasso

Nu couche - Pablo Picasso

Nu couche: Modigliani

Nu couche: Modigliani

Nu Couche: Raoul Dufy

Nu Couche: Raoul Dufy

Nu Couche: Henri Matisse

Nu Couche: Henri Matisse

Reclining Nude: Zinaida Serebriakova

Reclining Nude: Zinaida Serebriakova

Nu Couche: Jacques Landron

Nu Couche: Jacques Landron

Nu couche: Tamara de Lempicka

Nu couche: Tamara de Lempicka

Reclining Nude: Auguste Belloc

Reclining Nude: Auguste Belloc

Reclining Nude: Don Michie

Reclining Nude: Don Michie

Reclining Nude: Romare Bearden

Reclining Nude: Romare Bearden

Reclining Nude: Benjamin Wu

Reclining Nude: Benjamin Wu

Fat Land Reclining: Itamar Jobani

Fat Land Reclining: Itamar Jobani

Nu couche: Statue in city plaza in Cartagena

Nu couche: Statue in city plaza in Cartagena

Humanity is not one shape, size, color, creed, gender. We are as vast a variety as the fruit on any tree: similar but no one individual the same as another.  And that, in and of itself, is beautiful.

4 thoughts on “Variations on a pose

  1. Great pieces! I’m particularly loving the Zinaida Serebriakova for the intriguing expression on her face and the Itamar Jobani for the textural interest and charm of the pose. Oh, and the Benjamin Wu looks so darn comfortable in her own skin that I’m falling quite in love.

    The only ones I’m not terribly taken with are…well…done by artists whose work rarely speaks to me anyway. I can appreciate the technical qualities, but Tamara de Lempicka has never done much for me on an emotional level.

    Still, that’s purely a matter of different strokes. I love this celebration of the human body in its infinite variety. Thanks for this fabulously inspirational and upbeat post. I think I kind of needed it today.

    • Twistie I’m glad this comes across as the celebration I intended 🙂 There are many art styles that don’t really do it for me but I can still respect what the artists are trying to convey too as you said.

  2. I’m glad you managed to find a male, and I’m glad some of these women have pubic hair. I do have to say that I think Picasso’s nude is doing something anatomically impossible: boobs and butt should never be facing the same way.
    I love being able to see the variety, not only of people, but more of thoughts/emotions/messages that are expressed using the same (broadly speaking) pose. You rock!

Leave a Reply

