Back from Vaction and some link-love

It is back to the usual weekly grind.  As I wrap my head around the reality of once more getting up at 5:20 am instead of leisurely rolling awake at 10 am; I wanted to share some links that I have found interesting in the past week of vacation.

More of Me to Love has a great post up referencing “A Fun Quiz About Learning What You and Your Body Feel Best Eating“.  The tiny version of the quiz that she posted already points towards my own body functioning best as what the results called a “protein type”: meaning I get my best energy from proteins or fats; my metabolic engine seems to run more sluggishly on grains or fruits alone.  Very good food for thought about learning to listen to body responses to food stimuli.

Big Liberty pointed out a fairly recent (Feb 2008) study which linked obesity to genetics.  77% linked.  While I have to shake my head at the study’s intro which states unequivocally that “The dramatic rise in childhood obesity in the past 15 y (1) is clearly due to changes in the environment, because genes have not altered.”; the discussion conclusions are more in-line with the study’s findings in that:

“The results in the present study are broadly comparable to findings from earlier cohorts of young adults, which indicates that the balance of genetic and environmental effects is much the same as that before the external environment became so obesogenic. Therefore, although contemporary environments have made today’s children fatter than were children 20 y ago, the primary explanation for variations within the population, then and now, is genetic differences between individual children.” (Emphasis is mine)

Big Fat Deal pointed me to a site showing the “World’s Fattest” with images from as early as the 1800’s.  I just find this to be an interesting bit of visual evidence that Fat People (even if they were once labeled as “freaks” and even now have only upgraded to “poor souls” or “lazy gluttons”) did not just recently POP into existence by means of an Obesity! Epidemic!

A book review over at Living 400lbs led me to this article by Gina Kolata “Why Some People Won’t Be Fit Despite Exercise”.  Written in 2002 it still had some interesting points:

“Conventional wisdom has it that anyone who really wants to become fit can do so… But when a few intrepid scientists began asking if those beliefs were true, they found that fitness, like weight loss, has genetic underpinnings, making it inherently much easier for some to get fit than it is for others. And the facets of fitness are independent, so those who inherit an ability to gain muscle strength may not be able to grow large muscles and those who can easily increase their ability to do aerobic exercise may be thwarted on the weight room floor.” (Emphasis is mine).

For those who might have missed it there was a study released in the British Medical Journal on September 3rd, 2009 regarding the correlations between thigh circumference and the risk of heart disease.  I’ve seen many posts pointing to it but first saw it thanks to Big Liberty.  The results?:

“A small thigh circumference was associated with an increased risk of cardiovascular and coronary heart diseases and total mortality in both men and women. A threshold effect for thigh circumference was evident, with greatly increased risk of premature death below around 60 cm. Above the threshold there seemed to be no additional benefit of having larger thighs in either sex. These findings were independent of abdominal and general obesity, lifestyle, and cardiovascular risk factors such as blood pressure and lipid concentration.”

I think I’ll end with a link to another great blog: Diary of a Fat Teenager.  Her recent post addresses some of her blog’s comments and I think links to some great writings about getting the images out there and showing people that: “YES, Obese People are All Around You!  They aren’t just headless, nameless entities.  We are here.

We are even the people you might vehemently deny are fat or obese because those words seem to hold too much of a negative connotation for you.  Yet we remain.  Fat.  Obese.  And all over the place.”  This is very much the reason I post so many pictures of myself here.  I know there are people far thinner than myself who cringe at a photo; let alone at the thought of sharing it with the theoretical Internet world.  Yet here I am.  Being all Fat At You.  And loving every moment!  I AM what “Morbid Obesity” looks like.  And I am smiling in your direction.

Hello Death Fat!

Hello Death Fat!

I hope you find the links to be a good bit of thought provoking material to consider this Tuesday morning.  I have a few book reviews to offer of my own soon in between the re-vamping of school work this week.

13 thoughts on “Back from Vaction and some link-love

  1. Hey, that’s a great picture! I seriously need a black top like that. And, well, a canoe in a lake, too. 🙂

    Glad you liked the links…I should definitely have a post all about caveats when reading studies that are reluctantly pro-fat (and they nearly all are *reluctantly* pro-fat, when pro-fat, or at least non-fattieGonnaDie). The abstract and introduction are nearly perpendicular to the conclusion/discussion — in fact, the introduction is nearly always written as if they authors expected different results. So having that perspective going in is useful.

    That being said, I’m still on the fence about the fat thighs study. It seems like it was more focused on measuring the health benefits of lean muscle mass, and it just happens that fat people tend to have more lean muscle mass at the same fitness level as a thinner person (because they have the extra weight to carry around). But I still haven’t really combed through it as carefully as I’d like.

    The heritability study, however, is pretty straightforward. I’d caution everyone who reads any study tying fat to genetic factors, however, to remember that the people funding the study, or the authors themselves, aren’t likely out to prove that oh in fact, dieting is counterproductive and we should accept fat people as another physical class and yadda yadda. It’s all about finding the obesity keystone — that one thing which will give them the ability to, using drugs, therapy, or even outright methods from eugenics, eradicate fat people.

    • Big Liberty – Thanks, and the top actually came from Lane Bryant’s 2 for $20 sale. I have the bright blue one too and love it!

      Yeah, the studies are some things I’ve marked for later review. I’ll be interested to see just what sort of test drug or surgery gets suggested next to eradicate that 77% heritability “flaw” in us fat humans.

  2. I love it when you post pics of yourself. You have such a wonderful, inviting smile.

    So many cool links. So little time. Okay, I’ve already seen a couple of them this morning, but I’ll need to read the rest when I get home from work tonight. Mr. Twistie’s dinner can wai…oh, probably not. Besides, he got me a beautiful new toy for my birthday: a lovely new food processor with all the bells and whistles and machines that go ‘ping!’ on it. It’s only taken me 22 years to convince him that while he was taught that ‘girls don’t like getting cooking stuff as presents’ I am not ‘girls’ but ‘Twistie’ who adores cooking equipment and gadgets.

    • Oh man I love kitchen gadgets. I need more kitchen. Into which I shall place…more gadgetery! Have fun with all that “ping”ing Twistie! I’m looking at bringing the crock pot back out for the cooler weather now. Found some good recipes.

      Dykestra’s Algorithm and EpicInBetweenie: I’ll keep posting then! 🙂 And yeah, most of the time I can totally rock the “active and happy” bit. Not as big a fan of the outdoors when mosquitoes are out in droves but yes, I do like to adventure!

  3. I love it whenever you post pictures because you’re someone who is Fat Like MeTM and active and happy. It’s just nice to see that yes, I can still do outside stuff, regardless of who’s telling me I can’t.

  4. Hello! Just wanted to let you know that I really enjoy reading your blog. I also find it very interesting and sad to see the bias in what are supposed to be scientific studies. I do a lot of journal reading for school, and I have seen this bias in other areas too- I am mainly interested in Adult Development and Aging, and most of the studies I come across deal only with declines associated with aging- there is almost nothing on gained wisdom, experience, or fullness of relationships.

    • shapedlikeme: thanks for the compliment and your note on the focus only on declines associated with aging is interesting. It does seem to fit into the current need the seems to permeate research: to understand and stave off aging/death. And I agree; very sad.

    • Thanks Veronica! And it is labeled “Death Fat” because that happy smiling woman is Morbidly Obese aka Death Fat. And yes, the time felt well deserved and so needed ! 🙂

        • Well I figured that the Gorgeous and Happy (which, thank you btw) came across with the image. The “Hello Death Fat” label is just another way for me to get the image out there visually to more people that “Yes, Morbid Obesity” can have a face. AND it can be a happy smiling face.” It isn’t a disparagement for myself in any way, more like a little poke into preconceived notions of just how fat you have to be in order to be One of the Ones that the world is convinced are dragging down society and the world and all the rest of humanity along with them… 🙂

Leave a Reply

