Miss Piggy: Preach on my dear!

I had to giggle at this site which is a sort of Miss Piggy fan site.  Since my mind is still in Halloween mode at the moment I found myself contemplating next year’s costume (I know, touch early!).  One comment over on the SP thread about Halloween gave me the idea of turning myself and my Adam D into Miss Piggy and Kermit.  I’ve always loved the Muppets; in particular Miss Piggys awesome self-confidence and zeal for life.  Adam D is also very much able to speak and sing in Kermit’s voice so I think we’d be a pretty fun costumed couple.

All that back story aside; I was led to the first fan site in my idly curious quest for some images and maybe quotes.  What I found was a fun little site which speaks as Miss Piggy.  She addresses her fans, answers their questions and offers a bit of advice on life, fashion and nutrition.  Her tips are funny but also very much wise beyond her time.

For example, from the “How Miss Piggy Stays Fit” column:

Moi does not recommend dieting. The only way you can lose weight is the same way you lose anything – by forgetting where you put it.

Eat what you want, exercise your prerogative, and find a good plastic surgeon who gives frequent-flyer miles.

While I’m not on-board with physical alterations via surgery I do find it oddly refreshing to hear in plain language “Eat what you want” and “Don’t diet”.  Even if it is coming from a puppet pig.  Also, how interesting is her scale on the page?  The possible “weights” shown are: Ideal, Slim, Perfect, Tiny, Dainty.  How about having a slighty similar scale for every person; which only listed things such as: Wonderful, Amazing, Perfect, Ideal, Great, etc.  Bet it would make that morning weigh-in much less of a head-game for those who still insist on daily or even weekly self weighing.

I also had to share a few quotable quotes from the pink diva that might just make you grin or might even give you a bit of food for thought for the day:

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and it may become necessary from time to time to give a stupid or misinformed beholder a black eye. (Not that I’m advocating violence btw.)

Never use anything that makes you cry, sneeze, look old, or turn red and bumpy.

What is the use of being a fashion plate if all you are going to put on it is peas?

Just because you are down in the mouth, that is no reason not to eat.

This, you see, is my ultimate ambition – to live a simple life with the frog I love.

I don’t happen to be much of a fashion Diva myself and at any rate I’m happily pursuing a career so much of Miss Piggy’s advice to “Stick the man with the bills and only accept diamonds as gifts” doesn’t fit for me.  However, I can still admire her zest in life and her no-nonsense way of going through life the way SHE wants to; with goals clearly in mind that no-one will dissuade her from.  That, to me, is a great bit of character right there.  So preach on my dear Miss Piggy.  And maybe this time next year I wll be celebrating my own brief stint imitating your amazing style!

5 thoughts on “Miss Piggy: Preach on my dear!

  1. I really enjoy that Miss Piggy quote, and honestly don’t have a problem with some cosmetic surgery. I don’t think that it should be used as a weightloss method, nor is it a fix for body image issues, but with reasonable expectations it doesn’t bother me.

  2. Thanks for this – I’d never seen that site. I’ve been a huge Miss Piggy fan since I was about 10 years old (which was in her early 80s heyday). I think she appealed to me as a character who was both fat and beautiful and had a killer sense of humor. And before I was aware of FA, she helped me realize I didn’t have to hate myself.

    As a kid, I had (and still have) “Miss Piggy’s Guide to Life”. Among her other fitness instructions were “never eat more than you can lift at one sitting” and encouragement to eat a “light, delicate pastry”” rather than a “hefty artichoke”.

  3. I’ve been a Miss Piggy fan for yonks. In fact, the running joke in my home was that Miss Piggy was my father’s girlfriend…along with Glenda Jackson, Beverley Sills, and a couple other wonderfully self-realized women.

    While I, too, shunned the diamonds aspect of her advice, I have always loved her fearless, take no prisoners attitude and no-nonsense expectation that she will be allowed to do as she pleases.

    We could all find role models a lot worse than Miss Piggy.

Leave a Reply

