Can’t we stop hurting each other?

Can’t we stop hurting each other
Gotta stop hurting each other
Making each other cry
Breaking each other’s heart
Tearing each other apart

~~Lyrics from “Making each other cry” by Carpenters

My link-round up / thought swirl on this Monday.

Oh and for those of you who fancifully laboring under the delusion that you were fine if you weren’t fat (I know, that’s like what, maybe 8 people in the USA who don’t already think they need to diet regardless of their current weight or it’s relation to the arbitrary BMI measures of health?); the Mayo clinic wants to wag a finger in your general direction and pull you into the Obesity Panic too because apparently scales can lie about the state of your body’s actual health!  Oh really?  Weight may not be an accurate reflection of health? I think I’ve heard that… where was it again?

To end on a more upbeat note; I have to admit a love for some country music such as this:

Well, I know sometimes you think that all you really are,
Is the woman with the kids an’ the groceries in the car.
An’ you worry about your hips an’ you worry about your age.
Meanwhile I’m tryin’ to catch the breath you take away.
Oh, an’ believe me, you still do.
Baby, all I see, when I look at you,

Is one hot mama;
You turn me on, let’s turn it up,
An’ turn this room into a sauna.
One hot mama,
Oh, whaddya say, baby?
You wanna?

I can’t imagine me lovin’ someone else.
I’m a lucky man,

~~”Hot Mama” by Trace Adkins

Don’t underestimate your own beauty and how much breath you too might take away!

2 thoughts on “Can’t we stop hurting each other?

  1. You know, a while back we had a discussion about Gottlieb’s article that led to her book deal over at Manolo for the Brides (http://manolobrides.com). Some of the most interesting comments came from women who had taken advice like Gottlieb gave: Don’t be picky, settle for ‘oaky’, a breathing guy is better than being alone…and every single one of them told us that they regretted settling. Not only were they miserable in marriages that didn’t fulfill them, SO WERE THE GUYS THEY SETTLED FOR.

    Me? I’m glad that I waited for Mr. Twistie. I’d had a couple offers before him, but I knew they weren’t for me. There was nothing wrong with them. They were decent guys who would have done their level best to make me happy…they just wouldn’t ever have succeeded.

    About two years after I said no to the first guy, he got married to a woman who looks at him like he hung the moon. I would never have looked at him like that, but it’s how I look at Mr. Twistie every single day. If I had said yes to guy number one, four people would have lived ever after. Since I said no, four people are living delightedly ever after.

    As for the concern for HIV positive fatties, GIVE ME A FREAKING BREAK! Padding is protective in diseases like HIV. It keeps the patient healthier longer. Do we really want to shorten lives in the name of saving them?

    • Twistie I can’t second enough how important it is not to feel like you ever have to “settle” for anyone just to not be lonely (not for short term mind you but for anything long term I feel like it hurts everyone involved; as I learned in my first marriage).

Leave a Reply

