Making Progress Feels Exhilarating

So a few weeks ago I posted that I was almost up to swimming a half mile in under an hour.  Well as of this past Friday I have reached a full half mile; still in under an hour.  Now granted that doesn’t mean I’m going to win any speed trophies soon; nor do I have the inkling to get to the point where I would.  However, for this fat woman it means a lot to have swum 17 full laps in one…well I definitely couldn’t call it a “sitting” so maybe a “swimming”?

At any rate I’ve increased to a point where I feel good.  I had to push a bit to get those last 4 laps but really found increased enthusiasm for the last 2 when I realized I would be able to use the restroom sooner if I swam faster! (Drinking a full cup of tea the hour before swimming is not the brightest idea, just for future reference)

Today is Tuesday and again my day to swim (Friday was a lucky fluke to get the afternoon off to be able to swim).  I’m looking forward to getting to that 17 lap mark again.  I think if you manage to do something like that 3 times it makes it sort of a benchmark, no?  Or was doing it once enough to call it that?

In other physical activity related news I’ve managed to convince the hubby Adam D that we will be starting little hikes this spring/summer.  It felt kinda like another mini triumph because even though he is by far the thinner and more conventionally healthy appearing body of the two of us he is by far more content to lounge then I am!  (The irony, right?)  So if any hikers out there have tips for slowly starting newbies intent on beginning with some local not-crazy-mountain-climb hikes of the 1-2 miles and working up from there.  We’re in the central Massachusetts area so if anyone has good suggestions for hikes around the state (or even into lower NH) I’d love to hear them!

Happy active Tuesday y’all!

14 thoughts on “Making Progress Feels Exhilarating

  1. Congratulations on your accomplishment & good luck with the hikes. Well, we all know that thin couch potatoes are viewed much more indulgently than fat ones are, but some movement would do your husband good, I am sure. 🙂

    • Thanks no celery! ^.^ It has been interesting working up to that and heaven knows that likely don’t have correct form while doing it but still I accept the kudos!! 😀

      Patsy it does seem that indulgent acceptance of thin laziness hits right on the money. Especially thin white male laziness….

      • It’s a lot less foreboding than it sounds –there is a trail down the chasm (really a dry glacier-melt river bed –not nearly as difficult as, say, the ‘lemon squeeze’ in Mohonk, where you’re climbing up a crevasse…) and one on at least one side of the top (technically they’re two halves of a loop), and I think maybe one on the other side, too. There also used to be a rather nice little picnic area, too.

  2. Man, my dad used to take us hiking to this mountain all the time when we were little, and there was at least one trail that was small-child friendly (and thus, I would assume, good for newbies). Unfortunately, the only mountain that we hiked that I can remember is Monadnock, and it definitely isn’t that, because Mt. Monadnock was the “big mountain”, and this one was the small one. Nor is it Wachusett. Or, jeez, maybe Greylock was the big mountain and I actually am thinking of Monadnock.

    Basically, I am least helpful.

    For non-mountain hiking, Purgatory is fun (up until you get lost and end up on some out of the way access road trying to figure out how to get back to the car). I believe that the Douglas State Forest has a portion in the swamp that has a slightly elevated walk that I think is cool because swamp, but I haven’t been there in a couple years so I may be mixing it up with something else. Also, there’s a shitload of skunk cabbage, which is kind of sort of gross.

    Up near Boston, the Middlesex Fells are fun because they’re like a mountain, but way smaller. But that’s near Boston.

  3. The Welch-Dickey Loop Trail is in the southern most portion of the Whites, not far off 93 and offers some of THE best views for the least effort.

    If you’re willing to drive a bit farther north the Cascade-Brook trail in Franconia Notch offers waterfalls, waterfalls and more waterfalls all within a mile or two of The Basin (a sight to see unto itself).

    Good luck with your spring plans!

  4. Congrats! I felt much the same way when I finally got my speed up in skating. Good luck with your hiking and continued swimming!

  5. The Falcon Guides have a series called Best Easy Day Hikes that I’ve found invaluable on trips in the past. For example, I have the Glacier and Waterton Lakes National Parks guide and they divvy it up into different geographical areas with about 5 or 6 different hikes in each. The hikes all vary in length from as short as .2 of a mile to 14.2 miles and in difficulty from a nice meander to Hidden Lake which is at a very high altitude and is a mile and a half uphill.

    So head out to your local hiking and biking store and start talking, the staff will be more than willing to give you tips and fill you in on their favorite trails. I’m sure they would love to hook you up with great books and gear, too.

    BTW totally impressed by your fitness! I wish I could join a gym.

    • Sara A thanks for the suggestions; I will totally seek out that Falcon guide series and find some local shops to start poking into. And I do have to admit to feeling blessed that I am able to join a gym (with a pool no less) and realize it makes me incredibly lucky!

  6. I had to push a bit to get those last 4 laps but really found increased enthusiasm for the last 2 when I realized I would be able to use the restroom sooner if I swam faster!

    I love this, when certain unmentionable hurdles are not in the way, you find the most personal and off the wall reasons for doing stuff.

    The way the desire to just push just comes up from deep inside is inspiring and the kind of thing I think of when it’s just assumed that humans are just inclined towards pointless indolence.

    Water larks A Go-Go!

Leave a Reply

