Unexpected Song Find: Self Acceptance Boon in Pop Culture

It’s easy to feel like you’re all alone
to feel like nobody knows
The great that you are, the good that’s inside
Is trying so hard to break through

Maybe it’s your time to lift off and fly
You won’t know if you never try
I will be there with you all of the way
You’ll be fine

Don’t let anyone tell you
That you’re not strong enough
Don’t give up
There’s nothing wrong
With just being yourself
That’s more than enough

So come on and raise your voice
Speak your mind and make some noise
And sing – Hey! Hey!
Make some noise – Hey! Hey yeah! (Emphasis is mine. See rest here)

So.  Do you know who sings the above set of inspiring lyrics?  Hannah Montana aka Miley Cyrus.  A song called “Make some noise” about shouting out that you have the right to shine just as you are. That’s right.  Diva pop star who, for some meme inspiring reason seems to be the butt of any joke about how pop culture is ruining the world, sings a song whose lyrics very clearly speak to me about how important it is to find acceptance in yourself. Granted, perhaps more credit should go to those who wrote and produced the song (Andy Dodd and Adam Watts) but I rather find that this song, sung by Miley, might even bode well for the future and it makes me happy.

Whatever your thoughts on pop culture in general or Hannah Montana/Miley Cyrus in particular (I myself happen to find listening to the chipper songs she belts out to be one of my “guilty” pleasures and can’t help but smile at this ASL rendition of “Party in the USA” every time I see it), can you read the above snippet of song lyrics and not want to let a small smile through, do you not still want to let a small bit of fluttery hope bloom in your breast that maybe, just maybe, the message IS getting out there that there is nothing wrong with being yourself; we ARE each enough just as we already are?

Perhaps it is just that I am finding myself more actively seeking out such encouraging messages of acceptance but I seem to be coming across these tiny steps and moves in a better direction lately and I choose to hope that it bodes so well for the future.  To that I will heartily raise my voice! Hey-YA!!

Leave a Reply

