Quickly: Fresh tomatos rock my breakfasting world

Fresh tomato sitting in my hand

Fresh, red, ripe!

Well I do have a fun post almost ready for “Thursday Cooking Adventures” but it will go up later today since I forgot to upload my pictures last night.  So instead I will offer up a brief note of praise for the awesomeness of a warm, fresh red tomato sliced onto some crispy-crusted bread (olive oil and rosemary from Shaw’s), with mayo and some seasoned salt and pepper.  What an awesome breakfast!  That, combined with chunks of watermelon from the huge melon-beast that my husband so gleefully attacked a few days ago, made for a very happy April D this morning.

What is your favorite way to start off your work mornings?  Do you skip breakfast in lieu of a cup of some caffeinated pleasure? Does a full meal of some non-traditional breakfast foods need to be your start-up process? What gets your mental motor running each day?

6 thoughts on “Quickly: Fresh tomatos rock my breakfasting world

  1. Mmmm… tomatoes.

    This morning’s CSA box contained: slicing tomatoes, heirloom tomatoes, and mixed cherry tomatoes, among other yummy things. I’m thinking dinner tomorrow will be pasta with a chunky sauce of mixed tomatoes, purple basil, and mixed bell peppers (the box contained two red and one purple!). Can we say yum?

    As for breakfast, my one constant is coffee… except for right now when I have the cold from Hades and am drinking herbal tea instead. But this morning’s box also contained a cantaloup of great gorgeousness. I think some fresh melon may well be in order.

  2. I cannot start my work day properly without two packets of instant apple cinnamon oatmeal. I have eaten two packets of instant apple cinnamon oatmeal for breakfast every work day for, oh, I dunno, the past several years, at least. I may be in a rut, but it’s my rut. My yummy, yummy rut.

    Weekends, on the other hand, are for real-for-real actual oatmeal made in a pan 😉 !

  3. I can’t eat anything unless I’m awake for at least two hours. I usually have a late breakfast/early lunch of whole grain rye bread and different cheeses or lunch meats, plus an apple and maybe some dried figs, dates or apricots. Coffee *after* that when my stomach is in a mellow mood.

    Saturday I have fresh fruit and yoghurt, or olives, cheese and Italian bread, and Sunday is bread-rolls-with-Nutella day.

    Salads, or vegetable casseroles with all that looks yummy on the market are dinner food. And tomatos go into both. Nom nom.

Leave a Reply

