Small Activism: This “Fat Woman” is still “Human”

After my recital on Sunday I managed to get the pictures my husband took up online rather quickly.  Many of my fellow dancers snapped the pictures up (as agreed!) and started uploading them on Flickr, tagging themselves and the rest of us dancers.  I love when they do that because it saves me having to upload images in multiple spots since I can just tag myself on their uploads!

Tribal concentration

I guess I was concentrating so hard on thinking of what move to do next in this tribal improv dance, I had my tongue out to help me think!

One picture had a set of 5 of us doing tribal moves.  It was a great image, with myself front and center and the person who uploaded it just to the side; all of us with happy faces and intense looks of dance-concentration.  And then…there was a moment that could have turned nasty; which I think I actually managed to salvage as a learning moment instead.

A commenter who, I later learned, is an 11 year old girl living in the Czech Republic, first wrote on the image “WHAT THIS? :DDDD”  Then, after the dancer explained that it was tribal dancing, hence all the awesome accoutrement, etc, the commenter elaborated “I mean that who is that fat woman? It can dance?”

Now, since I had “liked” the image, I was privy to all of this as Facebook so “kindly” sends me incessant notes regarding all the activity on anything I happen to “like”.  And I will admit that the turn of the phrasing, the blunt cruelty in these simple words, stung.  For all the work I’ve done (for years now) in improving my own body image perceptions for myself and towards others; there are still moments when those school-yard taunts make me close my eyes, take a deep and regretful breath and force myself to be calm.  I had to do that in this case.

Because you know what?  Reading that statement just made me feel… inhuman. A bit like no matter how many times I dance, swim, smile, love and LIVE my life as proof against the awful pressures against being Fat that exist around me, I can still be verbally/textually lashed as people try to cram my existence into the small, pre-defined boxes that others would have of me.  A Fat Woman. Never anything more than a Fat Body.  And “it”, can’t do anything of worth; let alone DANCE!

Here’s the thing folks: I may be fat, but I am and will always remain: human.  I identify as a (rather lovely and increasingly more confident) woman. I happen to have a fat body.  While, often, that fat is part of my identity, it is not entirely My Identity.  I am not just “April D: Fat Woman!”  I am so much more than a Fat Woman or even a Fat, White, Hetero, Cis-gendered Woman.  I am also human and humane.  I am a lover and loved.  I am a giver and a taker, a thinker and an action-taker.  Yet, for some, I think, quite often, the humanity of the people in images and videos and behind the text of words given online, gets forgotten.  As I’ve just been reminded, as recently again as yesterday, the Internet tubes make it very easy for people to lash out with the shield of anonymity to protect them from any back-lash to spewed negativity or insensitive comments. It makes neglecting humanity as simple as a comment on a social network.  However, that very same simplicity of thoughtless action; can also be turned on its head to work FOR me.

My aim is to turn that anonymity on its head by being a very VISIBLE Fat Woman.  All too often people are hounded by images of the headless fatty.  A bulging belly or rounded set of thighs meant to represent the horrors of fat; a stand-in, cropped point, made at the expense of a person’s humanity stating “This is what Bad looks like!  This is sloth! Glutton! Unbridled lust for excess!  Consumption!  What Ye Shall Not Be!!!”  An effort of dehumanization made all the easier for folks when those pushing such messages simply crop away a person’s head and make their body a symbol.

Well my body is more than a symbol.  It is the amazing shell in which this thoughtful mind tickers away.  And any chance I get, I will be reminding you of that fact.  I am not merely a combined set of fat breasts, belly and thighs.  I am more than a thunderous cellulite footstep set to the music of elephantine booms.  I am more than a stretch of pale-skinned belly jiggling in slow motion to the daunting music of the latest Obesity Scare.  I am human.  And I intended to keep reminding you of that for as long as it takes for people to realize that looking at a cropped image of parts of someone’s body, or even a WHOLE head-having body, does NOT give an entire picture of that person’s life.  We are more than the sum of our various and varied parts and pieces.  So now I just need to figure out how I was going to get that point across in the best and simplest manner possible.

So, I mulled over this comment.  I let its sting roll around in my mouth, trying to tickle out all of the many ways in which it was able to hurt me.  And I tried to turn it around.  How could I take this comment, not even made with the sort of trollish hatred thrown here to me as the sole moderator of this blog but instead with the careless simplicity of knowing that very few would object to such phrasing, be used as a moment that could teach?  How could I make that “fat woman” real to this commenter in a way that didn’t necessarily bring defensive hackles immediately to bear against me (because, quite frankly, I’m getting tired of the knock-down, drag-out word battles against those who refuse to hear anything else but their own words).  I wanted to make myself a real, living, breathing woman to this commenter, in a way that could, just possibly, make them take a moment’s pause to reconsider their own words.

I decided I could best do so by adding my own comment: “Hi. That would be me. And yes “it” aka *I* can dance. And shimmy and shake pretty damn well ;)”

A response as simple and to-the-point as the original commenter’s.  A simple reminder to consider that there ARE people on the other end of those images and words out there. And those people have feelings and lives of their own.

Very quickly the commenter “liked” my reply.  In addition, the dancer who originally posted the image added her own response: “Belly dancing celebrates bellies of all sizes, and that’s why we do it. Please be considerate in your comments!”  This coming from a lovely woman who DOES fit the very narrow definitions of feminine beauty in this world.

To me, those small things: having a commenter who may have actually taken a moment to reconsider their anonymity and having the support of another, culturally acceptable sized-ally, really made my day.  It really made me think that I was making a tiny little in-road of activism; one small comment at a time.  There was no apology issues from the original commenter for her words but, honestly, I don’t feel they are necessary for me here.  What meant the most to me is that it felt like my own words managed to take away from the power of that original comment, diffusing it through a lens of reality; a frame of “Hey, remember that there are other humans on the other side of that computer monitor.”

Who knows, maybe the commenter was really “liking” my words sarcastically.  Maybe she thought they were said in jest or something.  But I don’t think so.  I think this was a triumph of small activism.  Even if that young woman goes on in the future and makes other such comments; I hope that my own words continue to give her pause; perhaps even, one glorious day, making her reconsider saying/writing similar things at all. One day, even further down the line, it may be her who calls out another on their words and phrases, passing along my own bit of activism in a wonderful path of shared activism.

I think that calling out those words and phrases and actions which seek to make others feel low and worthless is a huge part of being an activist.  Showing that this here “fat woman” is still “human” under it all; is vital.  And, I think, in this case at least, it may have had a lasting impact.  I certainly hope it has!

And to end with a hopeful smile; here’s video from my most recent recital; my solo.  Watch it and remember that, small moment by small moment, reminding people: this Fat Woman is STILL Human; is  a victory.  Each small victory leads us ever closer to a day when thinking of a person as “less than” for their differences, is but a distant memory of the hateful and useless way things used to be.

18 thoughts on “Small Activism: This “Fat Woman” is still “Human”

  1. I gotta say, I’m firmly in the hetero camp, but that dancing was pretty damn sexy. Considering where belly dancing originated, in the Middle East, where they think larger women are a sign of prosperity, I don’t see where anyone should be shocked that a large woman is dancing and doing it well.

    Did it tone your abs at all?? I’m thinking about doing it to help restore muscle tone to my gut after the c-section. It’s amazing how much you can’t do when your stomach muscles have been slashed open and stitched back together…even getting out of bed can require some interesting moves.

    As for the “it can dance?” thing…well, as many shields as we put up to protect ourselves from cruelty, yes, there are still chinks in the armour, and stinging words do get in. But if it makes you feel any better, pronouns are hard to grasp in English if it’s not your first language, and “it” is a fallback if they don’t know the proper term (the way I use “die” for the article here in Germany because I don’t know any better). Maybe that’s what she meant. Still hurtful, but maybe not as much so now?

    If you’re on Facebook, you can find me under my email. I’ve put up pics of me in my dirndl…you can see what it’s like to be a big woman wearing a dirndl and what it does to you rack…hehehe…

    • Yorkie – Thanks for the note on the potential language trouble. Perhaps that was another reason the commenter was so quick to “like” my response. It is likely that the intention was really to question already: “Wow! She can dance? My preconceptions about Fat Women are breaking!!” But who knows!

      I don’t think I’ve gotten any sort of hard-rock abs from dancing but definitely know the muscles there are stronger.

  2. Wow, what an amazing video! My 4-year-old son watched it with me and he clapped for you the end! He also said, “she’s very beautiful and I like her shiny skirt.” I love your direct response to that comment, too; I hope you keep on dancing, inspiring and showing the world what gorgeous fat women can do.

  3. Pingback: Joygasm: Regina Benjamin’s words make my heart soar with hope « I AM in shape. ROUND is a shape.

  4. Like Yorkie, I was going to note the question of English as a second language possibly contributing to the situation, but I love the way you answered, and I love that you’re being so completely visible. As you say, it’s an important form of activism.

  5. Thank you for posting the video– it’s such a joy to watch you move, because you look as if you’re having so much fun.

    • Thanks RachelB! 😀 I love the dancing because it IS such a joy to me! In fact I always have to laugh because for the Tribal style everyone usually looks so serious but I can’t help but smile and I know it sort of ruins that dark and brooding dancer image. Oh well! 😀

  6. Since you mentioned the commenter was only 11 and living in the Czech Republic, I also wondered if the “it” thing might have been a language barrier issue rather than an insult. Who knows–maybe the commenter is a larger-than-average girl who was told she can’t dance because she’s too fat, and was encouraged by your picture to think otherwise.

    I love when you post belly dancing pics and video! Your costumes are beautiful, and I am seriously jealous of the amazing fast hip shimmy thing you do. I’ve always been too inhibited to be much of a dancer myself, although I have been active in community theater for years. Acting is TOTALLY different from dancing! Thank you for your blog and for posting things like this that shatter people’s assumptions.

    • Fantine I am so thankful for knowing that I can even attempt to shatter assumptions! And I do hope that this is what I did for the commenter; especially if she was herself wondering if dancing was something she herself COULD be doing and visibly at that!

      I think that acting takes an incredible amount of gumption, courage and a willingness to put yourself out there; qualities very akin to what people suggest that *I* have for dancing. So you have MY admiration for getting up on stage and performing theatre for others; something I have never been really willing to take on!!

  7. Ya know…the more I watch the more talented I realize you are! Your solo is awesome!

    How long have you been dancing?

  8. Wow!! You amazing woman! I loved that bellydance performance, I sat here glued to my screen watching.

    I think the thing we need to keep hammering home is the humanism of the fat acceptance movement. That each and every one of us is a human being that deserves equitable, respectful treatment from the world.

    Kudos to you for being a fabulously visible fat woman.

  9. Pingback: Tweets that mention Small Activism: This “Fat Woman” is still “Human” « I AM in shape. ROUND is a shape. -- Topsy.com

  10. I absolutely love your solo!

    Being an athlete (of a sort) myself, I know how it feels to be defensive over the whole appearance of “what do you mean, you do x” (usually said — if in person — incredulously and derisively). Reading something that sounds like it (with the “it can dance” comment) and not being able to see the body language and hear the tone makes it so much worse.

    You handled that impressively well! I am in awe of both your tact and forthrightness in the way you responded.

    Awesome job, on both the solo and the response! 🙂

Leave a Reply

