I’ll be joining NaNoWriMo this year: a few Fat Characters

Participant of NaNoWriMo: 30 days 50,000 words

Participant of NaNoWriMo: 30 days 50,000 words

Well I’m joining NaNoWriMo again this year.  I first challenged myself to this fun event 2 years ago and managed to pull off the required 50,000 word story by the end of November.  It was an amusing and completely silly tale about a pair of detectives who, along with their entire city, are magically transformed into various animals who need to solve a murder mystery before they all forget they were ever human…or something 🙂  There was an evil duck and a shark and basically it was a lot of fun.

Last year I did not manage to succeed at 50,000 words; floundering to tell a tale about two girls from different worlds who became each others imaginary friends.

This year I will go into the month of November with a few characters already imagined and a rough start in mind.  Since I’m not sure how much time I’ll have to post here between the story, class and work (and the recent flourish of dance shows I’m attending!) I thought I might showcase a few of my ideas and thoughts here as a happy bit of Fat Positive Fiction time.

This year I’ve even done a bit of research into my intended storyline; particularly about the area I am hoping to have the main characters explore.  I wanted to plot out what was going to happen in the book but figure that life always sends us interesting inspiration every day so I’ll see where the tale leads instead!

So, to entertain on the end of this Friday, as I sit to prepare myself for a good sleep for class tomorrow (and the Halloween party afterward!); I give you a few character outlines for a tale I am calling:

“We found Atlantis in the Bermuda Triangle”

1: Cassie (Cassandra Natalia Aitkinson)

  • mother was Ukrainian and father Scottish, mother immigrant to US (few years before Cassie’s birth); father’s family here for century or so).
  • Grew up hating Girl Scouts so joined Boy Scouts. Joined Order of the Arrow
  • loves camping, wilderness, etc.
  • White skin, medium length Dark brown hair, natural highlights from being outside so much, was called “Swamp Monster” in school for greenish tints due to so much time in the pool. Deep brown eyes. Morbidly obese, size 26
  • From southern New Hampshire
  • very active in archery.
  • Studied French. Went abroad to France in Junior year. Dabbled in some courses of Arabic, Japanese, Global Studies.
  • Tried joining the Equestrian team but couldn’t handle the stupid hazing so just rode a bit now and then and kept to Archery. Tried to start her own archery team.
  • Works as a project manager for computer company in Nashua.
  • String of boyfriends, a few good ones, some big misses, mostly having fun being single, very flirtatious and often the hit of the party
  • no kids, one small dog (bulldog) name Daisy-Chain.
  • Wants to celebrate their 35th b-day with a cruise. Sets it up.
  • Doubts anything mystic; especially Bermuda Triangle (skeptic; cites how other places have just as many vanishings; nothing mysterious. Nora always bites back that it is the NATURE of these disappearances that is most mysterious).

2: Nora (Noreen Emily Diallo)

  • mother Senegalese: 3rd generation, father Egyptian, but distantly ).
  • Not a fan of camping.  Wilderness belongs outside. Not a girly girl but practical.
  • Black skin, short and naturally curly hair. Deep brown eyes.
  • From Worcester, MA.
  • Distinctly feminist, FA blogger, obese, size 18.
  • Very intellectual, excels at math and really enjoys boating/nautical history.
  • She studied: Economics-Mathematics, minor in Gender Studies.
  • Works as a Business Admin for a social services company in Boston. Working towards graduate degree MBA
  • Always wanted to know about Bermuda Triangle and test out its mysteries; has called to her all her life. SHE is the one for whom the city will open?
  • Married twice, divorced once. Current marriage (to Gregory Bean, fellow mathematician who studied at Yale) feels too good to be true. One kid: Joey. 5 years old. He loves to help cook with Dad.

These are the two leading ladies.  Their friendship and birthday cruise will launch the tale (which I need to begin writing on Monday!  EEEK!) and their personal stories will weave together to tell the tale of their adventure.  I’m really excited to flesh out the details of their lives and loved ones and find out their full personalities as I write.  I’m also looking forward to adding a few other characters with some of the many varieties of size, shape, personality and past that color human lives so wonderfully!

Writing: yet one more thing I never thought to just up and DO because I felt that other things had to come first (namely, finding “control” over (read: force to be LOWER) my weight).  Well, such aspirations and dreams of: writing for fun, inventing Fat Characters who reflect aspects of my own life or loved ones and bringing a story to life, do NOT need to wait for me to first force myself into a certain appearance.  I feel like I have learned so much since I started blogging and dipped my toes into the waters of literary abandon.  I found out that I happen to be VERY loquacious on paper (e-paper?) and that I love to play with words, create enormously run-on sentences, and bring text to life with just the right turn of phrase.  Something I never really allowed to flourish before and could never have appreciated for how wonderful, how daring, how ADVENTUROUS it makes me feel to know that I am doing something I always considered off-limits: a “goal” to treat myself to when I finally reached that dauntingly magical “goal weight”.  Well, no more!

So for my encouraging bit of this post?  Be adventurous!  You may not discover Atlantis like my leading ladies; but perhaps (like me) you can discover a bit of yourself by allowing yourself to do even just one of those things you’ve held off on for so long; waiting for the day when you look differently.  Write!  Dance!  Smile without shame!  You are beautiful.  You are amazing.  And you CAN do so much as the “who” you are now: let yourself shine.

10 thoughts on “I’ll be joining NaNoWriMo this year: a few Fat Characters

  1. Sounds so cool! You are way ahead of me. I have no idea what I’m going to write about, no characters, no nothing. Oh well, I tend to fly by the seat of my pants anyway. I’m CTJen over there too if you want to buddy me. 🙂

  2. I signed up too. Last year my brain was Swiss cheese, made so by a difficult pregnancy, but this year…I just did my first entry. It’s going to be a series of flashbacks and stories from my childhood. I didn’t have a particularly unusual one, I just remember a lot.

    Oh, and during this last week, whilst we were on a trip to Lake Garda and Venice, I taught myself how to crochet. For a life-long knitter, this was something of an achievement, and I’m very proud of myself!

  3. Pingback: Fatties in NaNoWriMo: Bit of Fiction « I AM in shape. ROUND is a shape.

  4. This sounds so interesting…and fun!!
    So can anyone join this writing thing? I have never heard of it before now… and if so, when do you need to join, what are the goals, etc?
    I am very interested in this.

    • Karen: it goes for the entire month of November! If you go to NaNoWriMo.org all of the details are there but the basic goal is to write a 50,000 word novel by then end of November! All you need to do is start writing 😀

Leave a Reply

