Fattie Book Review: Vampire Academy Series

Vampire Academy by Richelle MeadBook: Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead (First book: “Vampire Academy”)

Rating: ♦♦♦♦◊ (for entire series)

Synopsis Snippet:  St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human, half vampire teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a guardian for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. Forbidden romances, social and vampire political drama, intrigue, violence and finding out who you really are; all within in a set of 6 incredible books.

The Cast: The main characters are pretty much all pale, thin (of course, can’t have any “fat” vamps.  *sigh*), straight, cis-gendered.  Some amazing female roles and male roles in here but don’t expect much earth-shattering diversity by any means.

Romance Aspects: Loads!  There are steamy scenes, unrequited love, emotional distress and love-triangles that will turn your head.  Lust, love, like, drama.  All of it!

Language: A good mix of teen-angst and self-reflection alongside the action and the steamy romance.  Most of the books are well-paced and even the one or two with slight problems have enough plot to keep you hungrily reading for more.

Fat treatment: Like pretty much any vamp novel I’ve come across, fatness is somehow “not around” when you’re a vamp.  Gag.  As if.  But, no big moments of fat hatred come out that really stuck with me after reading the whole series.

Review: Rose Hathaway is a kick-butt, take names, act first and worry later kind of girl.  She only wants to graduate and guard her best friend and vamp Lissa.  However, the wild vamps of this world, Strigoi, are determined in so many ways to directly or indirectly mess this up.

Overall I loved the story arcs in the series and the characters as they grew and shaped up into who they became by the end.  The pace is (usually) fast and furious with one thing after another.  At points you feel like Rose and Lissa will never catch a break.

Then, there’s the steaminess.  Hunky Dimitri, cocky Adrian, aloof Christian.  All hot and confused and great to read.

Great Quotes: Some awesome tidbits that might get your curiosity going.

“You want diamonds? I’ll give you diamonds. I’ll shower you in them. Hell, I’ll get you a gown made out of them. But it’s going to be skimpy.”

“Only a true best friend can protect you from your immortal enemies”

“The greatest and most powerful revolutions often start very quietly, hidden in the shadows”

“We can’t stop living because other people are dead.”

“Don’t worry, little dhampir. You might be surrounded by clouds, but you’ll always be like sunshine to me.”

“Okay, God, I thought. Get me out of this and I’ll stop my half-assed churchgoing ways(…) Let me get out of here, and I’ll . . . I don’t know. Donate Adrian’s money to the poor. Get baptized. Join a convent. Well, no. Not that last one.”

Final Verdict: 

This was an incredibly fun series.  I enjoyed the characters and the plots and all of the intrigue and steamy hotness.  It was perfect for a beach read or to cuddle up in a blanket on a cold day with a hot cuppa something.  I loved Richelle Mead’s manner of writing as it was fluid and natural and the characters seemed to spill right off the page.  Well done and one series that I felt sad to put down at the end!

Oh, and to see a great little stick-figure video to encourage you to fall in love with the idea of reading the first book in the series, check out this post over at one of my favorite book review blogs: Anna Reads.

So, have you read this yet?  Would you now want to? Would you suggest it to someone else?

8 thoughts on “Fattie Book Review: Vampire Academy Series

  1. Almost sounds like the TV show Vampire Diaries.

    I was never a big fan of vampire novels save for some of Anne Rice’s stuff, but I loved R.L. Stine’s Fear Street series and his standalone books, same for Christopher Pike’s books. Pike did have one fat character that was in his series of high school horror books, (The Party, The Dance, The Graduation) and he wasn’t the typical fat guy. He was the stud, was sleeping with a cheerleader, and they *spoiler* elope to Las Vegas at the end of the last book after they graduate high school. There was also a series of teen horror novels written in the 80’s. One was called Night Prey, about vampires at an exclusive prep school. There was a fat vampire in it called Helen (your stereotypical fat girl name) who sucked more blood than anyone else (of course).

    I (shameless self-promotion) write a webseries that features dhampirs, a family of werewolves and a farmer couple and their niece. The farmer’s wife is a clairvoyant witch that practices white magic and she happens to be fat (I did that on purpose). She’s “represented” by Dawn French (who wasn’t dieting when I chose her as the face for my character) but she will stay fat because I want a fat-positive character to write for.

    • Bree your series sounds awesome 🙂 Is there a place folks can find it? Also I used to LOVE R.L Stine books. The Fear Street stuff still sometimes comes to mind and gives me the heebies! Not sure that I ever read Pike though; might have to check out those ones with the fat character though. I’ll add it to my over-long book list 😉

  2. I’m amazed you read the whole thing. I *love* vampires, but I didn’t want to read anything past the first one because of the fat-shaming and slut-shaming. Made me even more attached to writing a fat, happily slutty vampire heroine!

  3. April, as a lover of paranormal fiction, and fat friendly fiction, I just want to point out Andrew Fox’s Fat White Vampire Blues and (my personal favorite) Bride of the Fat White Vampire http://www.fantasticalandrewfox.com.

    Bree, I’m going to check out Dark Haven!

    On the shameless self-promotion front I want to point out that my vampire book, The Falstaff Vampire Files (due out in Sept from Pearlsong Press) has both a fat vampire, and an older, fat heroine who fights off evil creatures from another dimension. One more thing, I couldn’t resist saying once I saw that you do belly dancing–my just reissued Larger Than Death has totally positive fat bellydancers! http://laurietobyedison.com/discuss/?p=5238

    We now return you to your non-blatant book promotion comments!

    • Hmmm steamy as it a lot of boy cravings, discussion of hot kisses or almost-hot moments, one book where un-requited lust plays a big role. Sex does happen but is not described in length; this isn’t erotica. Think of it as more focused on the desire for a hot kiss or close touch. Totally acceptable for even mid-teens and up. Perhaps younger even.

Leave a Reply

